City Council

Council Meetings

  • 7 p.m. first and third Tuesday of each month
  • George Gilbertson Boardroom
    Snohomish School District Resource Center
    1601 Avenue D
    Snohomish, WA 98290
All meetings are open to the public. The City Council Chambers are accessible to people with disabilities. If you need specialized accommodations, please provide 5 days advanced notice by contacting the City Clerk's Office at 360-568-3115.

Public Comment

Public comments are welcome at all City Council meetings. Meetings begin with a public comment period where citizens can speak on any city-related topic. Citizens may also comment on specific agenda items during the meeting.

Your comments should generally be limited to 3 minutes in length.

Public hearings offer particular opportunities for citizens to comment on important issues such as new ordinances, city budget, comprehensive plan amendments or adoption, and interlocal agreements.

Council Workshops, which precede council meetings, are for council information and discussion only. No citizens comments are accepted. 

Council Agenda

View current and past council agendas for details on meeting topics and schedule..

Council Members
  City Council members

Top Row L-R: Dean Randall, Tom Hamilton, Derrick Burke, Michael Rohrscheib
Seated L-R: Karen Guzak, Jason Sanders, Lynn Schilaty

The City Council is made up of the following elected community members:

Function of the Council

The seven-member City Council is responsible for the legislative function of and the overall vision for the City.  The Council adopts ordinances and resolutions, sets policies, approves contracts and budgets, and appoints individuals to boards and commissions. 

The mayor is a member of the council and is selected by the city council. The mayor presides at council meetings and is recognized as the head of the City for ceremonial purposes, but has no regular administrative duties.

City Council members are elected to four-year terms and serve part-time and do not maintain office hours at City Hall.

The city manager, Larry Bauman, is appointed by the Council to implement its policies and administer the day-to-day business of the city.